Connect with us

Blockchain

Discus Fish (aka F2Pool) Bitcoin Mining Pool Review

May 2018 update – Discus Fish / F2Pool remains a leading bitcoin mining pool, and since this review has expanded to cover SC, DASH, XMR, XMC, DCR, XZC, XVG, LTC, ZEC, EH, ETC, A look at Discus Fish Mining Pool (originally published December 2014) Please  note: This review is based on a relatively small amount of hashing, a few hundred ghs. The stats outlined in this review may not apply to larger miners. We hacked our antminer S1’s to mine nine pools concurrently, letting us run proportional power across a wide variety of mining pools. This review is part of our series

Published

on

May 2018 update – Discus Fish / F2Pool remains a leading bitcoin mining pool, and since this review has expanded to cover SC, DASH, XMR, XMC, DCR, XZC, XVG, LTC, ZEC, EH, ETC,

discus-fish-f2pool-review-logo

A look at Discus Fish Mining Pool (originally published December 2014)

Please  note: This review is based on a relatively small amount of hashing, a few hundred ghs. The stats outlined in this review may not apply to larger miners. We hacked our antminer S1’s to mine nine pools concurrently, letting us run proportional power across a wide variety of mining pools. This review is part of our series of bitcoin mining pool reviews.

So now that we have our quad Antminer S1s up and running in with about 650ghs in BitcoinsInIreland towers, we have been looking at our options for our reviews with some meaningful hashing power. While looking through the various pools, and the overall market share over on Blockchain, and rising in prominence throughout 2014 has been the Chinese mining pool, F2Pool, better known in the Bitcoin mining world as the Discus Fish mining pool.

Discus Fish operates using a PPS (Pay Per Share) reward system, taking a 4% fee. They mine Bitcoin and Litecoin, depending on your preference. They also merge mine three additional coins, UnitedScryptCoin, Huntercoin and PesetaCoin. The pool utilises the Stratum mining protocol, and vardiff so difficulty will adjust based on your hashing power. Their servers are based in Beijing, Qingdao and Hangzhou in China.

So hitting the first page of the pool, you are presented with a minimalist set of options.  After registering and activating your email address, you can proceed to add in a worker automatically using yourusername.something and pointing to their servers. If you have a few different machines, it’s best to name these separately. The pool doesn’t send alerts for workers that go down, unlike some of the American and European pools, but offers another team/company who offers this service, although we didn’t try this in this review.

Once your miners have submitted a few shares, the rather sparse screens give you really basic information. Some graphs showing your average hashing speed, and your current earnings, paid earnings, and cumulative earnings – that’s it! The display values also don’t update dynamically, but if you hit refresh every few seconds  you will see the amounts tick up bit by bit as each share is counted. Now one of the things I do like about Discus Fish is that they have a very low payout point. Most of the pools I have tried have at least a 0.01 BTC automatic payout, although some will let you manually withdraw over a threshold, with a fee. In reality, this means it can be days or weeks before you hit a payout threshold.

But Discus Fish is set to automaticaly payout when your 24 hour earnings go above 0.001 BTC and seems to round to the nearest 0.0001. Their site states that they work off midnight UTC, so payouts up to this time are dispatched several hours later the following morning. For us, we -started mining about 10pm, and had our first payout at 4.39am the following morning, So if one of your goals is to have a bitcoin wallet that is growing bit-by-bit. day-on-day, then this is a good option for you. Just note that earnings that are in accounts inactive for 90 days are donated to the pool.

Securitywise, the site operates with https, and lets you have the option to lock your bitcoin wallet address to an account, to prevent it being changed in the event of your account being hacked. The site also doesn’t let you change your email address, but also doesn’t seem to utilise email verification for actions, unlike the other pools. So make sure you pick a strong secure password.

So in conclusion, while the interface of Discus Fish leaves much to be desired, you can’t fault their ability to generate blocks, and any half decent amount of hashing power pointing at them will generate regular amounts lodged to your wallet. An ideal pool for small-scale miners who want to be able to access their bitcoin funds in days, not weeks, and the PPS fee may be high compared to other pools, but they pay out for orphan block and don’t have the swings in luck that other pools can have, giving you a degree of regularity in calculating your mining rewards.

Update 1st October. UnitedScryptCoin merged mining support was announced as being dropped. Updated minimum payout from 0.0005 to 0.001

Simple but effective
  • Ease of Use
  • Payout threshold
  • Look and feel
  • Earning potential
  • Regularity of earnings
  • Security options

Summary

A minimalist interface currently controls nearly 1/4 of the world’s mining rewards, and is one of the few still using a Pay Per Share system. Higher fees than others are offset by regular payouts and a really low payout threshold, making this great for small-scale and occasional miners, as well those commanding much higher amounts of mining power.

Our site is largely funded by affiliate links and advertising. If you click a link on our site we may receive renumeration. If you are using adblock, please whitelist us to support us, or if you’re a user of Tip us on Brave Browser Brave Browser, we’re a verified publisher, and welcome any tips!
User Review

3.89 (9 votes)

Source: https://bitcoinsinireland.com/discus-fish-aka-f2pool-bitcoin-mining-pool-review/

Blockchain

BTG Pactual becomes first bank in Brazil to participate directly in the crypto market

Published

on

Financial institutions have been increasingly keen on being part of the booming $2 trillion cryptocurrency market, with over 13 of the world’s largest banks pushing roughly $3 billion in funding so far, into cryptocurrency. The latest major news came from Brazil.

One of the leading Brazilian investment banks BTG Pactual has been trending within the crypto community. It launched a new platform enabling customers to make direct investments in cryptocurrencies. Ergo, making it the first major financial institution in Brazil to participate directly in the crypto market.

According to local news outlet, The Rio Times,

“…the launch of Mynt, a platform that allows BTG Pactual Digital and BTG+ clients to trade directly, cryptocurrencies such as bitcoin and ether.”

Andre Porthilo, BTG Pactual’s head of digital assets, stated,

“At this first moment, we will have the two main assets of the market, but we will include other cryptos for trading over time. We will have a complete platform with blockchain-based assets.”

One thing that remained in common with different banks incorporating these tokens is the fact that they have been responding to “demand from our customers who wish to trade crypto.” This news is no different.

Plans

BTG Pactual CEO, Roberto Sallouti laid out his plan of action with this development. He opined, “As a new asset class, we will also have content to educate and inform our customers about these assets and the technology.”

Needless to say, Brazil has witnessed an immense amount of crypto traction. That said, regulators too have taken steps to curb illicit activities. As asserted by the CEO, the said bank will be regulated by both the Brazilian Securities Commission and the local central bank. Moreover,

“With the support of BTG Pactual, Mynt has fundamental differentials in security and credibility…”

Past

The said bank had previously incorporated digital assets in previous operations as well. In 2019, it launched its real estate-backed security token ReitBZ. This step was executed post-examining digital assets for a couple of years. Just recently, the bank announced collaboration with Gemini, the U.S.-based crypto exchange. Gemini provided custody services to the first Bitcoin fund issued by a Brazilian investment bank.

Where to Invest?

Subscribe to our newsletter

PlatoAi. Web3 Reimagined. Data Intelligence Amplified.

Click here to access.

Source: https://ambcrypto.com/btgpactual-becomes-first-bank-in-brazil-to-participate-directly-in-the-crypto-market

Continue Reading

News

Basel Committee Crypto Rules Face Backlash

Published

on

By

The information on or accessed through this website is obtained from independent sources we believe to be accurate and reliable, but Decentral Media, Inc. makes no representation or warranty as to the timeliness, completeness, or accuracy of any information on or accessed through this website. Decentral Media, Inc. is not an investment advisor. We do not give personalized investment advice or other financial advice. The information on this website is subject to change without notice. Some or all of the information on this website may become outdated, or it may be or become incomplete or inaccurate. We may, but are not obligated to, update any outdated, incomplete, or inaccurate information.

You should never make an investment decision on an ICO, IEO, or other investment based on the information on this website, and you should never interpret or otherwise rely on any of the information on this website as investment advice. We strongly recommend that you consult a licensed investment advisor or other qualified financial professional if you are seeking investment advice on an ICO, IEO, or other investment. We do not accept compensation in any form for analyzing or reporting on any ICO, IEO, cryptocurrency, currency, tokenized sales, securities, or commodities.

See full terms and conditions.

PlatoAi. Web3 Reimagined. Data Intelligence Amplified.

Click here to access.

Source: https://cryptobriefing.com/basel-committee-crypto-rules-face-backlash/?utm_source=main_feed&utm_medium=rss

Continue Reading

Blockchain

Ethereum NFT Game Sorare Fantasy Soccer Raised $680 Million

Published

on

Ethereum NFT game Sorare fantasy soccer just raised $680 million and it is now valued at $4.3 billion while launching a US office so let’s read more today in our latest Ethereum news.

The Ethereum NFT game Sorare fantasy soccer raised $680 million and the french startup now plans to expand into other sports as well as to onboard women’s soccer teams and US office. Sorare is an Ethereum-based fantasy soccer game based on NFT trading cards and grew dramatically in 2021 with a rising base and huge trading volume not to mention the new licensed teams in the mix. Today, however, the startup is using the momentum with the announcement of a new funding round.

NFT Game Founder, scammer, eth, cryptopunks

The $680 million Series B round values the company at $4.3 billion after a $50 million Series A round which was announced back in February and the new series was led by Japanese tech and investment conglomerate SoftBank that has a number of crypto industry dealings through SBI holdings financial services division. Sorare is focused on soccer with players from more than 175 licensed clubs like FC Barcelona, Juventus FC, and Paris Saint Germain FC as some of the most popular. Nicolas Julia, the co-founder and CEO of Sorare said that this week the company plans to expand into other sports and it will open a US-based office in the upcoming months to help “continue to grow with fans and sports leagues.” He continued:

ADVERTISEMENT

“We have ambitious plans to keep growing Sorare into a sports entertainment giant. The new funding will be used to help us continue to grow a world-class team, expand to new leagues and new sports, and keep improving our experience for users, including shipping a mobile app.”

nba top shot

Dapper Labs’ NBA Top Shot is similar to Sorare, built around NFTs and based on professional athletes. An NFT acts like a deed of ownership to a scarce digital item so in the case of Sorare, it’s a digital trading card that can be purchased and resold with each available in limited quantity. One NFT card can even reach $290,000. Unlike Top Shot, however, Sorare has an ongoing game component and is similar to other fantasy sports in that you can choose your top players each week as well as the leagues with other users. Sorare also has close ties with Ubisoft as it took the accelerator program this year.

ADVERTISEMENT

DC Forecasts is a leader in many crypto news categories, striving for the highest journalistic standards and abiding by a strict set of editorial policies. If you are interested to offer your expertise or contribute to our news website, feel free to contact us at [email protected]

PlatoAi. Web3 Reimagined. Data Inteligence Amplifed.
Click here for Free Trial.

Source: https://www.dcforecasts.com/ethereum-news/ethereum-nft-game-sorare-fantasy-soccer-raised-680-million/

Continue Reading
Blockchain5 days ago

Massive NFT and Token Giveaway from Polker as Staking is Announced!

Blockchain3 days ago

Over 40 days after Ethereum’s EIP-1559, here’s where it stands

News5 days ago

Gods Unchained and Guild of Guardians Layer 2 Solution Immutable Raises $60 Million

Blockchain4 days ago

Cardano Sees an Influx in Smart Contracts ! But There’s a Twist

Blockchain5 days ago

If Shiba Inu is a ‘shitcoin,’ why are exchanges still listing it

Uncategorized3 days ago

NBA 2K22 Limitless Spot-Up and Chef Badges Explained

Blockchain5 days ago

Ethereum, NEO, Dogecoin Price Analysis: 16 September

Uncategorized5 days ago

DeFi comes to Cardano (ADA) as EMURGO announces ‘Astarter’

Blockchain3 days ago

After Targeting BlockFi, State Regulators Now Set Their Eyes On Celsius

Uncategorized5 days ago

Laos Green-Lights Cryptocurrency Trials

Blockchain5 days ago

Bitdefender Releases Tool To Decrypt Files Affected by REvil/Sodinokibi Ransomware

Uncategorized3 days ago

Best Dribble Pull-Up in NBA 2K22: Which to Use

Uncategorized3 days ago

What is The Old Gym in NBA 2K22 Next Gen?

Blockchain5 days ago

Bitcoin Cash: A 40% hike may be incoming from this setup

Uncategorized3 days ago

NFTs Are the Building Blocks of the Metaverse — Here’s How It’s Being Built

Blockchain3 days ago

EY Taps Polygon Network to Improve Enterprise Clients’ Experience 

Uncategorized5 days ago

Tether Claims to Hold no Commercial Paper From Struggling Evergrande

Blockchain2 days ago

Flux Pools autoriza o pagamento de ativos paralelos em mais de 300K Flux!

Uncategorized3 days ago

Shiba Inu (SHIB) Rises to Range High

Blockchain3 days ago

Matic Price to hit $1.75 in the next leg up! Launch on Bitfinex to be the Catalyst?

Trending